Mini Farm: A Hen and a Coyote Meet

The last week of the year went out with a flash of feathers and you better believe I am still Pissed!

I was finishing up my day at work when The Soldier calls to tell me Big Momma, our New Hampshire Red chicken was missing. His exact words were, Big Momma Is Gone. I was panicked and then sad. I thought she had met the Owl that had taken up residence in the field near our house.

He soon called me back with news I knew was coming but was hoping I could live in a nice calm mini farm world for a little while longer. The Soldier explained that he played back the days events from our cameras around the house. At 2:00pm The chickens were let out to free range around our property eating all the bugs and grass that could scratch up. Then at 3:30pm Trees shake, chickens fly and big momma who was our biggest hen and the heaviest was not fast enough or high enough to escape.

coyote image courtesy of National Geographic

On my way home from work. Sitting in traffic I started to get angry and then sad and I began to cry. I cried because she died scared, because I was angry that this small beast came into my world and wrecked it. I cried because now my dogs wouldn’t be able to roam that yard like they did and because everything would change.

But soon after getting home to see feathers still fresh and floating around my yard I was back to my fighting self and ready to take back my yard and my tears. Big Momma deserved that much and so did the rest of the critters in our life.

coyote image courtesy of National Geographic

Coyote, you will not know what hell you have unleashed until I see you again.

How to get rid of a Coyote? Legal or …

One thought on “Mini Farm: A Hen and a Coyote Meet

Leave a Reply

